Released January 11, 2005, this disc includes

SACD Stereo * SACD Surround Sound * CD Audio


The making of the 5.1 surround sound SACD ..... Many hours were spent in the studio mixing and mastering tracks to perfection. Little technical details were adjusted, corrected.  Early response to this new format (surround sound SACD) and the results of the remixing and remastering have brought interesting and noteworthy comments from fans.


"If 5.1 is used to its full potential, rather than just using the back channels for ambiance, it can open up the recording from stereo in a way that stereo opens it up from mono. Glad to see attention being paid to 'I Believe You', as I feel it is one of our stronger tracks and a perfect vehicle for Karen."

        - Richard Carpenter, January 2005


(Click on the Song title to go to Song Notes)

1.  Yesterday Once More  3:57

2.  We've Only Just Begun  3:04

3.  Superstar  3:46

4.  Rainy Days And Mondays  3:33

5.  Goodbye To Love  3:55

6.  I Believe You  3:54

7.  It's Going To Take Some Time  3:00

8.  This Masquerade  4:53

9.  Ticket To Ride  4:10

10. Top Of The World  3:01

11. Only Yesterday  3:37

12.  Hurting Each Other  2:47

13.  Please Mr. Postman  2:47

14.  Merry Christmas, Darling  3:05

15.  Sing  3:18

16.  Bless The Beasts And Children  3:15

17.  I Won't Last A Day Without You  3:50

18.  Touch Me When We're Dancing  3:18

19.  For All We Know  2:32

20.  (They Long To Be) Close To You  3:40

21.  Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft  7:07


Produced for SACD by Richard Carpenter


Surround Sound mix by Al Schmitt and Richard Carpenter at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA

Assisted by Steve Genewick and Bill Smith

Pro Tools Editing: Bill Smith at Sky's the Limit Studios, Studio City, CA

Mastering by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, CA

Digital Editing: Stewart Whitmore at Marcussen Mastering, Hollywood, CA

Stereo Fold-down Mixes: Richard Carpenter and Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Studios, Hollywood, CA

SACD Authoring: Lon Neumann


Art Direction: Vartan

Design for SACD Reissue: Artministry, Inc.

Production Manager: Shannon Steckloff


Front cover photo by and courtesy of Annie Leibovitz and Richard Carpenter archive.

Back cover photo courtesy of Richard Carpenter archive.

Inlay Cloud Photo by Fred Valentine for Silver Lining Untld.


Supervised for SACD by Paul Bishow and Michel Etchart

Project Director: Mike Ragogna


2004 A&M Records


Last Updated June 4, 2008
May 2004  Richard Carpenter

Hit Counter

WebDesign by the Webutante